This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Premio NY


Premio NY

The Directorate General for Cultural Promotion and Cooperation of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Italian Academy for Advanced Studies at Columbia University in New York have founded the New York Prize to award scholarships to young and promising Italian artists.

The prize-winners will be offered the opportunity to spend four to eight months in New York at the Italian Academy, coinciding with the semester dates of Columbia University (September-December 2005 and January-April 2006) in order to develop their skills while being exposed to the cultural and artistic ambience of New York. The chosen artists will also be expected to take part in the cultural events and activities of the Italian Academy, and to prepare a solo exhibition, normally held at the Academy, at the end of their stay.

The New York Prize, now in its fourth edition, has been extremely successful and highlights the commitment of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to promoting Italian art abroad.

The examining board changes every year and includes representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Italian Academy and the School of the Arts at Columbia University, two professors of History of Contemporary Art, as well as two art directors of Museums/Galleries of modern and contemporary art and two eminent critics.

Those who have been on the examining board for the past editions of this Prize include: Renato Barilli, Lorenzo Canova, Laura Cherubini, Vittoria Coen, Paolo Colombo, Giorgio Cortenova, Jolanda Covre, Eva Di Stefano, Danilo Eccher, Bruce Ferguson, David Freedberg, Cornelia Lauf, Olivia Richmond D’Aponte, Marco Meneguzzo, Alessandro Riva, Barbara Tosi, Giorgio Verzotti, Marisa Vescovo, and Pia Vivarelli.

The winners of the previous editions of the New York Prize are:

1stedition (2002-2003): Matteo Basilè, Chiara Carocci, Marta Dell’Angelo, Sara Rossi;
2nd edition (2003-2004): Sarah Ciraci, Alessandra Tesi;
3rd edition (2004-2005): Rä Di Martino, Gabriele Picco.

The names of the winners of the 2005 scholarships will be listed on the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs website as of June 30, 2005.